Ampeg SVT4Pro Mono Bridged Speakon

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by Hillsidebass, Dec 17, 2013.


  1. Hillsidebass

    Hillsidebass Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Location:
    San Angelo, Texas
    There are conflicting posts on how the Speakon should be wired at the amp connection. Should it be 1- and 1+ or 1+ and 2+? The owners manual says 1- and 1+ which would be a standard Speakon cable.
  2. B-string

    B-string Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Location:
    Lake Havasu City, Az USA
    IIRC the 4 Pro has a dedicated speakon for bridged use only. A standard 1+,1- speakon should be used.
  3. Hillsidebass

    Hillsidebass Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Location:
    San Angelo, Texas
    That's what the manual says but several post say 1+ and 2+. I'll try a standard Speakon. Don't know why so many have it wrong.
  4. B-string

    B-string Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Location:
    Lake Havasu City, Az USA
    Many amps have the speakon wired with channel one to 1+,1- and channel two wired to 2+,2-. For those amps bridged operation requires the cable to be wired 1+,2+ for bridged operation (special bridged cable on the amp end ONLY). The 4 Pro uses a speakon dedicated to bridged operation only so standard cables can be used. :)
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Hillsidebass

    Hillsidebass Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Location:
    San Angelo, Texas
  7. hodgy

    hodgy

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Location:
    Bothell, WA
    Disclosures:
    Tech Support- Ampeg/ Mackie
    To avoid confusion, do what is silkscreened on the back of the amp. In October of 2012 we (well, not me personally, but I made the suggestion) changed the circuit to accommodate a 'normally' wired +1/-1 Speakon. All 4Pros built prior to October of 2012 use the +1/+2 wiring at the Speakon jack for bridge-mono mode.
  8. sutarappa

    sutarappa Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Location:
    TX
    good to know, thanks.
  9. Hillsidebass

    Hillsidebass Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Location:
    San Angelo, Texas
    Mine is a Vietnam built head. Bought it new in 2007. I just tried a standard 1- and 1+ Speakon cable and it worked perfectly. It wouldn't work at all if the Speakon connection was wrong....would it? There is nothing but an * silkscreened on the mono-bridged connection on the amp.
  10. Downunderwonder

    Downunderwonder

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Probably ran on the one channel per normal.
  11. B-string

    B-string Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Location:
    Lake Havasu City, Az USA
    It would still work but be no louder as you would only get power from one output amp, not the combined two.
  12. Hillsidebass

    Hillsidebass Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Location:
    San Angelo, Texas
    Ok, I'll try the 1- 1+.
  13. B-string

    B-string Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Location:
    Lake Havasu City, Az USA
    You said you already tried that? That is standard wiring. Open the connector and move the wire on the 1- to the 2+ to try a "bridged cable" configuration.
  14. Hillsidebass

    Hillsidebass Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    Location:
    San Angelo, Texas
    Will do...thanks
  15. hodgy

    hodgy

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Location:
    Bothell, WA
    Disclosures:
    Tech Support- Ampeg/ Mackie
    What he said. Also, make sure your mono/stereo button is in for mono bridge operation.

Share This Page