Angled Headstock vs. Straight Headstock

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by MatrikzDaClown, Nov 7, 2012.

1. MatrikzDaClown

MatrikzDaClown

I'm starting to do some research on piecing my first bass together. I've been playing on the same P-bass for 15 years and a SDGR SR-405 that I picked up about 8-9 years ago, so I think it's about time for a change or at least something new. I've played on tons of brands and styles, and I have decided that the dense woods like bubinga, wenge, ovangkol, and koa have more of the sound that I'm looking for with the mid growly sound similar to warwicks. I would like a warwick, but I'm not settling for one, so until I can afford the one I want then I'm building. I do realize this can get pricey, but i can buy pieces. That's the key.

My question at the moment is, what is the major differences between angled headstocks and straight headstocks? How do these affect sounds in their own way, if at all? Does it carry more sustain? Pass on ANY info on this if ya don't mind, or anything else that might be beneficial for me to know while I start piecing my *hopefully* masterpiece together.

2. monster6607

monster6607

Don't know how or if there is a difference in tone between angled or straight, but I do know that with a straight neck, you'll need a string guide to keep the tension on the strings that are anchored far away from the nut.

3. Zooberwerx

Zooberwerx Gold Supporting Member

An angled headstock pretty much "enforces" the proper string break / angle at the nut. I believe my Bordwell is the most severe at ~16 degrees.

Riis

4. Silver Blues

Silver Blues

An angled headstock just makes it really hard to put the bass down. Both my basses have ~11 degree angled headstocks, and that's my only gripe with them.

--Silvie

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Stilettoprefer

Stilettoprefer