Annoying clicky sound...

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by SuperBassSam, Feb 21, 2009.

1. SuperBassSam

SuperBassSam

Hi,

I've been learning bass for about 3 months, and was a reasonably mediocre guitarist for approx. 3 years. I mainly play metal/rock, and whenever my playing starts picking up speed, I can hear an annoying sort of clicking sound. My drummer even pointed it out.

I play fingerstyle, and I was wondering why this happens? Is it technique related or amp settings or something else?

Thanks for reading

2. ldervish

ldervish

Could be any of several things, from the treble/mids settings on your amp to the particular qualities of your strings and pickups. However, my bet would be that you're action is set a bit too high... At slower speeds you are a little gentler with your fretting, but as you pick up speed the fretting motion takes more pressure and has to be done quicker, until it almost becomes a "hammering". The click is the string hitting the fret before you pluck the note.

Check (or have someone check) the instrument for proper relief and string height. Once that is where it is supposed to be, practice using the least fretting pressure it takes to get a clear note, and gradually build up your speed while concentrating on that. You might also try a different position on the fretboard for the line you are playing, or even experiment with using a slight "sliding" or squeezing motion into the target note. Coated strings can also help with this, but may change the sound at the same time.

Of course, I could be all wet, in which case completely disregard the above. :p

3. Ganky

Ganky

Unlikely to be amp settings if your getting the sound when your playing acoustic, it's to do with the strings. You might need to lower your action (the height of the strings from the fretboard), or it simply might be part of the bass's sound, if it's on the amp try lowering your tone. What bass are you using?

4. BassXgirl

BassXgirl