1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Another "help me choose some flats" thread!

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by ryanfenderbass, Dec 20, 2011.

1. ryanfenderbass

ryanfenderbass

I'm not a newbie to flats, but it has been about 10 years and I'm excited to get some flatty goodness on my MIJ 70s P. I also play hand-wound Wizard p'ups into 2 15s, so I think even Jesus would agree that I should play flats. I play mostly post-punk, indie/alternative stuff, so I need to sit well with an overdriven Tele and synth. I play with fingers 90% of the time (9% pick, 1% slap). For what it's worth, I'm a big fan of Simonon/Gallop and their sonic contributions.

I will try TIs, LaBella, etc some day, but for now I'm looking for a low cost investment just to be sure. Do I want:

D"Addario Chromes OR Rotosound Jazz 77s?

What about gauges: I was thinking light or Custom Light the Chromes (45/40-100) or Regular for 77s (45-105)

I often love on the high notes and use a few harmonics, so I don't want too thick of a G/D, but I use a Hipshot D-Tuner, so I need a nice, tight E. For this reason, I use RS Billy Sheehan customs (43-110) which I love the sound off, just not the sandpapery feel.

Thanks for the help!!!
  2. 64jazz

64jazz

I use the 77's and love 'em! Haven't found any reason to look around for something different.
  3. Coolhandjjl

Coolhandjjl Supporting Member

I can comment on the Chromes- for my tastes they were too chimey/ringy.
  4. ryanfenderbass