Another rant (I'm sorry)

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Salamenster, Mar 7, 2014.

1. Salamenster

Salamenster

:mad:

So I've done a tonload of stuff trying to get together this great rockband with this guitarist I know. He was all like 'YEAH, we should totally set up this rockband, we should have tight practice schedule: practice every saturday and get some song rolling and be supermotivated!'.

I was into that, ofcourse. I had been longing for a disciplined band for a couple of years now. Now we've got the band together, great folks, great chemistry. Now he's like "Yeah we can't practice regularly because of my work, so saturday is only an option once in 3 weeks and I like working on sundays too so that's not an option either. (The other days are given our college lifes out of the question.) So I think that we should loosen up and only practice once in a few weeks or so."

Thing is, I've done almost EVERYTHING to get the band together in the expectation of a band with real discipline (I was sick of the joke-around bands I've alway been in) and he just blows all of it up in front of my face with reasons he could have forseen a LONG time ago.

To make matters worse, guitarist guy is my flatmate, so I can't just make an enemy for life out of him, altough at this point, I'd really love to never have to do anything with him ever again.

I've really been longing for a good, motivated, disciplined band for the last 5 years and all the bands I've played in/auditioned for up to now were mostly unprofessional jokes: either just friend groups practicing music once a while or just undisciplined children.

I'm 19 now so there's that pressure as well. I have the feeling the disciplined band should have been there way earlier. I really want to make some petty cash out of it, just not to work next to college work.

Again, sorry for the rant.
  2. Salamenster

Salamenster

Any input appreciated (flatmate + bandmate = good idea? for example).
  3. Joe Louvar