1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Any advice?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by musicianary, Nov 29, 2012.

1. musicianary

musicianary

I've been playing for almost 7 years. I'm looking to play in a band at a church, and I found one that I'm really interested in. now, it's been almost 2 years since I played with a band consistently, and I'm a little intimidated because these guys are GOOD. Any advice on how to go about this?

2. rnarrington1

rnarrington1

Look at it this way, if they want you to play, then you most likely have what it takes. Kick your insecurities to the curb and go for it. Also if you get a chance to play with some peeps that are without a doubt WAY beyond your ability, guess what go for that too. You WILL learn alot by playing with people that you feel are better, and eventually there will be somone looking to you like that.

3. MalcolmAmos

MalcolmAmos Supporting Member

Most praise bands play from fake chord sheet music, and the chords are a little different than you may be used to. Get some of their sheet music and start practicing.

I'm sure they already have a keyboardist (piano) so you two need to work out how you will play together. Less is more right at first. http://www.klangwesley.com/songs.php?songID=144

Have fun.

4. Jason Wilson

Jason Wilson

+1

Same happened to me when I first started. I only knew the A maj (what, there is more to learn?? ha ha). The other guys in the band were older & a lot better and more experienced. I learnt so much from that band!

Just jump in a do it, you will learn heaps, it will make you a better player. I actually prefer to play with really good muso's due to the amount you can learn.

As Nike would say, "Just do it!"

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. BassyBill