Any bad sound guy stories from gigs?

Discussion in 'Bass Humor & Gig Stories [BG]' started by Kylemcgregor96, Jan 2, 2013.

1. Kylemcgregor96

Kylemcgregor96

I'm not saying every sound guy is bad. i'm starting to look into being a sound engineer myself. just share any funny stories you have. I have some story..

I was playing a 500 capacity venue last week with my band. The venue supplied full backline.. Thankfully it was an Ampeg SVT 8x10. I thought to myself 'Great, ill hopefully be heard now'. So we got on stage for sound check at 4pm. The sound guy was on stage helping us. He was a pleasant man. He then came out with 'The SVT cabinet isn't working, it's just for show'. I paused for a sec as I thought it may have been a joke.. He carried on setting up as I had a very puzzled look on my face. He then brought me a DI and said 'do you want to mic the head of the amp into the pa'? I though to myself it it was possible to hook the head straight to the pa.. it wont make a difference. The di looked terrible! We started our sound check. He asked for bass. I played it and compared to the guitars and drums it was pretty quiet. You could talk louder.. I asked for it up and he said the bass is nearly full volume! It must have been a very weak di signal! So we played our gig that night, I couldn't even hear myself, even when the crowd was applauding and I was playing on my own! So the end of the night came. As I walked out the sound guy came over and said 'the cab is in full working condition, we just don't like the bass to loud in here' WHY HAVE AN AMPEG 8x10 JUST FOR SHOW!?

I can have a laugh now when I look back on it. What do you guys have done?
  2. Kmonk

Kmonk

Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Fender and Spector, Ampeg, Curt Mangan Strings
    FYI, threads bashing sound guys are no longer allowed. If you check the Live Sound forum you will see an explanation.
  3. Kylemcgregor96

Kylemcgregor96

Sorry, I still don't know how to work some of this
  4. HereIGoAgain