Any experience with Thomastick roundwound Jazz bass strings?

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Elihu, May 20, 2009.

1. Elihu

Elihu

I have been using Thomastick Jazz flats on my Stingray for about 3 years and like the low tension but want to see if I can get something with a more defined sound. The flats tend to be a bit muddy in church using a small combo and PA support, even when boosting the treble on the Stingray. At my friday gig playing country and gospel it's not as muddy through the GK 2-12 combo. So, to sum it up I'm looking for a bit more note clarity without getting too bright. And I'm wondering how long these expensive strings last on the average before replacement. Thanks for your opinion :D

2. Elihu

Elihu

Hmm, maybe I better open it up a bit. Looking for some low tension round wounds that last. Suggestions?.:help::help:

3. r379

r379

Try TI Superalloys. Pretty smooth for roundwounds and long-lasting. They will give you more definition. Give'em a while to break in because they seem kinda bright at first. I guess I'd call them medium tension.

4. Elihu

Elihu

Thanks for the reply r379. I went to the Musicians Friend website and looked the TI's over. The EB344 strings seemed to be favored over the Superalloys on the few reviews posted. I'm also curious about the JR344 set. Someone posted about this set on their Jazz Bass and really liked them. :cool::cool:

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Mrdak

Mrdak Supporting Member

You have to play with an extremely light touch with the Jazz rounds, and if you like the lighter gauge of that set, they are very good sounding strings. Especially after they break in.

Go see this guys videos on you tube............ http://www.youtube.com/user/GBagley browse through all 50 or so vids, because he uses them on several basses.
    He's M5Yates here on TB, and knows how to play a set of TI JR's, You'll see.

7. fretlessguy

fretlessguy

www.bgra.net

That has a couple of reviews on them there.

FG