1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Any fretless fingerboards impervious to wear?

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Matthew_84, Jan 1, 2013.

1. Matthew_84

Matthew_84

I have a Mighty Mite unlined ebonol board, and while it is great, I have been playing Ken Smith Compressors on it for the last 6 months, and there are now scrapes and scratches on the board. Most them are only visible and only are few can be felt with my fingers, but in a year or less it will need to be sanded down.

I love these strings, and don't wish to use flats yet. I am 99% sure I know the answer, but figured I'd ask it anyway...

Are there any fingerboards that do not wear down at all?
  2. Got2SadowskyNYC

Got2SadowskyNYC

Disclosures:
    Artist: Sadowsky, Bag End, Visual Sound, Pedaltrain, George L
    "Impervious to wear" would violate the 2nd law of thermodynamics.

Everything wears out. If you use stainless steel with will wear faster because it's so hard.

Flats make the neck last longer but I don't like the dark tone. They still wear on the neck.

On my Curbow IEP I loose that mwah sound. I use Half wound which is basically a round wound ground to almost a flat surface. It's kind of the best of both worlds but you'll still get some wear.
  3. Matthew_84

Matthew_84

You're right. They still all do wear down the board. The only strings that I have yet to see wear down an ebonol board are black nylon tapewounds, but I prefer the strings I'm using.