Any software engineers or programming types out there?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by JehuJava, Oct 6, 2012.

1. JehuJava

JehuJava I endorse myself Supporting Member

Not really sure if this is the right forum, but OT didn't seem as applicable.

Basically I want to make a patch/preset editor for my own use but no idea how to go about it. The pedal, that I'd rather not speak aloud, has the ability to import and export presets. But when I open the preset file in a hex editor it makes no sense to me. One file has all the preset data. Could someone point me in the right direction?

I have some VB experience, and I'm not afraid to spend the time learning a new programming language or whatever it takes really. I have a graphic design degree, so you can imagine I like pleasant GUI's vice crappy LCD menus.

I'm not trying to break the law or reverse engineer proprietary information. I just want to make editing presets on a very complicated pedal much easier so I can have some fun with it.
  2. MontzterMash

MontzterMash

Hi,

First step is going to be to figure out what the structure of that preset file is. That's going to be the biggest factor in the difficulty of this. Since you mentioned a hex editor, I assume it's a binary format of some sort.

The general ways to do that are:

1. Google first, and see if someone else has already reverse-engineered the file format. Could be someone here knows too.

2. Get a variety of preset files that vary in an organized way, and start looking in them and figure out what every byte does. That's a bit like learning music by ear - the more you know a lot about how people encode things in binary file formats the quicker you can recognize the patterns and figure it all out. First time you try it, it can take a while, and be quite daunting, so be prepared for a lot of trial and error. Positive way to look at it - much of that trialing involves playing with your bass through the pedal to see what things sound like.