Any TBer teaching bass in Staten Island, NY

Discussion in 'Wanted: Bass Players' started by Papalampraina, Jan 10, 2013.

1. Papalampraina

Papalampraina Need.More.Fuzz. Supporting Member

Hey there. I am looking for a bass teacher in Staten Island. If anyone is available, send me a pm.
  2. Ray man

Ray man

Wow, another staten islander.:cool:

I took a few lessons at the staten island school of rock.
    It was ok If you wanna learn realy basic run of the mill blues bassed rock, but you can learn that anywhere.

If you realy wanna learn the deep things of music theory then forget it. These teachers are kids that will teach you the blues scale and the I-IV-V progression.

They learn the basics and the next thing you know, there somehow qulified to teach you .:meh:
  3. Papalampraina

I was looking for a bass player that teaches, not a school. I know how to play, with lots of mistakes (self-taught), but I was looking to learn how to slap.
  4. bassmaster831

bassmaster831 Supporting Member

Hahah so true! I know alot of the people that work there and there aren't any actual bass players. Just guitarists that learned a bunch of covers on bass
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Ray man

Ray man

Yeah, the only thing I learned at that place was that I was better off teaching myself.

My teacher at the time told me thers no D in the key of C.
    Obviously he was thinking a C triad, he had no clue that 9ths could be used as a chord tone especialy in a jazz.

But since hes the well repected teacher, that somehow made him right I guess.
    So thers no D in the key of C from now on guys ok? Maybe if I start telling people this then I can get the same repect he does.
  7. Papalampraina

Maybe I can get a job there. I'll even start a new cult, one that would prohibit finger style on bass. :)
    Seriously now, anyone that can show me how to slap and some exercises?
  8. Ray man

Ray man

So sorry about the rant.