Any teachers out there leave the field and if so, what did you do?

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by russpurdy, Jan 7, 2014.

1. russpurdy

russpurdy Supporting Member

Im wanting to leave the teaching profession after 4 years as I am burning out working at a school full of troubled and high needs kids. I don't feel like its fair for the kids if I keep working there and not be able to give them 100% plus it's affecting my personal life quite a bit.

My question is, have any of you teachers out there found other work with your education degree? I feel qualified to do alot of different typed of work based on my skillset but employers may not feel the same way.

Thanks for the help in advance!
  2. MakiSupaStar

MakiSupaStar The Lowdown Diggler

I'm a teacher. If you don't mind me asking, why are you feeling burned out? I train teachers at my site and the district. Maybe I can help.
  3. i_got_a_mohawk

i_got_a_mohawk

Is it purely teaching qualifications you have or did you train in anything else prior to doing teacher training?

Any chance of a teaching job in another school? I don't know about where you are, but I know quite a few teachers and one common theme has been that the teaching experience, from one school to another can be a night and day difference.
  4. Dale D Dilly

Dale D Dilly Monster Supporting Member

I think many opportunities to find a job with that kind of experience will bring you back to an even higher concentration of the troubled and high needs kids. Have you been at the same school for the entire four years? If not, you might try simply changing schools next year to see if it helps. A different working environment with a different academic culture might alleviate a lot of the trouble you're having.

What subject(s) are your endorsement(s) in?
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Jared Lash

Jared Lash Casting out the nines Supporting Member