Any tips on how to write bass for a chaotic part?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by FirstMateJepeto, Apr 14, 2014.

1. FirstMateJepeto

FirstMateJepeto

First off, I'm really unsure if I'm posting in the right category.
    I'm in a death metal band; really old school, riff-based music. It's not at all the music I listen to, but it's very fun to play.
    We have a song with a part that's more chaotic, if not black-metalesque, with our one guitar doing high-pitched minor chords in eights over fast drums, that later becomes a blast beat, and I've been thinking for a while of what I should put there. I liked the idea of putting up a bass solo, with fast, chromatic/dissonant stuff, and maybe some effects.
    I have little to no composing experience, and some theory. I'd appreciate if someone could give me some tips, whether regarding approach, play styles, effects.
    I play a 4-string tuned in C#.
  2. MalcolmAmos

MalcolmAmos Supporting Member

Cookie cutter composing:

It's melody, harmony and rhythm. Each is a separate item AND THEN if we follow a few basic rules they merge together in a pleasing way. Which one first is up to you. All three must end up augmenting each other.

Harmony: Have you (or someone) decided on and placed the chords. The bass plays chord tones of the active chord. Which tone? Roots, thirds, fifth and sevenths usually work. The order and how many depends on the song. Start with roots. We are composing the first draft with a cookie cutter, you can flesh it out later. Get the bones first; if that sounds OK add some flesh.

Rhythm: Seems you already have a handle on the drum track. Echo what the kick drum is doing.