1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Anybody find the middle ground? Jazz and Slap.

Discussion in 'Rockabilly [DB]' started by mebusdriver, Aug 2, 2012.

1. mebusdriver

mebusdriver

I've been reading a lot of threads about strings and recommendations for slap. Has anyone found a set that works for both jazz and slap? I'm new to upright, just bought my bass yesterday, and I'm about to get new strings, bridge, and a pick up to get a set up done. 75% of my time will be spent playing rockabilly but I will also be playjng jazz from time to time. I've read tons of reviews but most people just give their opinion on what works for one style and not the other. So has anyone found a set that can do both?
  2. dukeorock

dukeorock Gold Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Authorized fEARful/FEARLESS/greenboy designs builder
    A lot of jazzers use gut strings, which are the preferred strings for rockabilly/slap...

Clef
    Gamut
    Blast Cult

Those are a few good examples...good luck!
  3. ricobasso

ricobasso

+1 on gut strings for Jazz, Bluegrass/Old-Timey/Folk and Rockabilly

I don't like them for Classical/Arco though.
  4. dukeorock

dukeorock Gold Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Authorized fEARful/FEARLESS/greenboy designs builder