Anybody play keys as well as bass?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by lwknives, Dec 27, 2012.

1. lwknives

lwknives

My parents got me a MIDI keyboard for Christmas (USB connectivity, velocity sensitive, 49 keys) :hyper:.
    I plan on using it to make drum tracks, orchestral parts, and key, piano parts. Maybe try and learn keys well enough to play in a band setting. :ninja:
    Ive played around with it a bit, I was surprised at how easy it was to play around and improvise. (in C maj and A min anyway :rolleyes: lol).
    Do any of y'all play keys as a second instrument? Do you have to be proficient at playing keys to lay down MIDI controlled instruments? Is it worth spending the time to get "good" at keys? What kind of tips do y'all have?

2. Kmonk

Kmonk

Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Fender, Spector, Ampeg, Curt Mangan Strings
    I play bass, keys and guitar. I am self taught so I usually find the easiest way for me to learn is just listen to a song and play along with it until I figure it out.

3. klokker

klokker

In general, I think some keyboard knowledge is basic to any instrument. It's not an absolute, but my recommendation to any bass player would be to have a keyboard background of some kind.

4. lwknives

lwknives

It will be the other way around, I already have a bass and guitar background. I learned theory from a bass perspective (strings, frets and notes) not a keyboard perspective.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Disaster Area

Disaster Area I can't think of anything to put here.