Anyone else trying to quit smoking in 2013?

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by ErebusBass, Jan 1, 2013.

1. ErebusBass

ErebusBass

I've been smoking about a pack of cigarettes every day of my life for more than the past nine years, and its time to quit.

Anyone else doing the same? Have any suggestions for kicking the habit without using nicotine replacement (patches, gum, inhalers, etc.)?

2. Immigrant

Immigrant

I have no advice, but I have experience. Do it now. Quit now.

I started smoking 37 years ago at age 14. Cigs were .43 a pack and years later when the price crept towards the dollar mark, I swore I'd quit.

Now I'm avoiding going to the doctor to get my current health issues looked at. I'm 99% sure I'm in early stages of congestive heart failure. I hack up no less than 25 loogies in the first two hours of every morning. I have an unused exercise bike less than 10 feet away from my recliner and near a TV, and I got on it two days ago for the first time in months. I lasted maybe 2 minutes (seemed longer) and lost all ability to breathe and my heart was ready to pump out of my chest.

My dad died in 1994, a lifelong smoker having quit 4 years previous to croaking. He was on oxygen and had emphysema. My mom died less than two years ago. Lung cancer. She also quit a few years before dying. I've already logged more smoking years than my mom and the reason I continue to smoke can only be labeled COMPLETE STUPIDITY.

I have four packs left, and packs now last three days. I tell myself those are the last I'll buy.

Load up on DumDums and avoid places that trigger smoking. And good luck!! Sorry I couldn't be any help at all.

3. TOOL460002

TOOL460002