1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Anyone ever use a vintage Fender Concert amp for bass?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by sunvalleylaw, Dec 28, 2013.

1. sunvalleylaw

sunvalleylaw

I just got my first bass, and am thinking about what to do about an amp. I have a 1961 Fender Concert 4x10 amp that is pretty similar to a Fender Bassman, that I have used a little bit to just check my new amp out. I am a complete and utter newb to bass playing, though I have played guitar for years.

Anyone ever use one of these amps for bass? Should I worry about damaging my vintage amp if I play my bass through it?

[​IMG]

2. neuro512

neuro512

You wont damage the amp- you could damage the speakers.

3. coreyfyfe

coreyfyfe Supporting Member

I'd worry about damaging those vintage speakers if you're playing bass at anything above bedroom levels, but otherwise it should be fine. How does it sound?

4. sunvalleylaw

sunvalleylaw

Thanks for the advice!

Sounds good actually! I love the 4x10 openness. But I do worry about damaging the thing. I am currently looking at inexpensive options for my beginner needs. I got this bass because I joined a jam band and we have no bassist, and there are some cool bass parts on some of the songs we are covering. Mostly 90's rock type stuff.

I will continue to read up and find a decent little amp for myself. Right now the candidates are an old Peavey TNT, (because they seem plentiful, and cheap) or a TC Electronics BG250.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Michedelic

Michedelic