1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Anyone have any experience with Ametto or Keith, Curtis & Clifton basses

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by jumpshotjonny, Aug 27, 2012.

1. jumpshotjonny

jumpshotjonny

So I'm a self taught electric bass guitar player. I've always wanted to learn how to play upright bass and I've decided there's no better time than the present.

There doesn't seem to be many options for places to buy/rent upright basses here in Central Florida (if anyone knows of any shops I should check out let me know). There's a a shop pretty close to me called Atlantic Strings and they carry upright basses.

They carry entry level basses from a couple of different makers Ametto and Keith, Curtis & Clifton. I don't know too much about upright bass makers but I've seen on the forums a lot of people have good things to say about makers like Upton, Shen, and Christopher for quality entry level basses.

Anyone played either an Ametto or Keith, Curtis & Clifton and have an opinion? Can't really find much info so far searching the internet.

I'm trying to decide if I should buy or just start off renting first. Definitely want to get a teacher, the Atlantic Strings shop gave me some numbers to some local teachers.
  2. drurb

drurb Oracle, Ancient Order of Rass Hattur; Mem. #1, EPC Supporting Member