Anyone in their 40's,or later, that started learning to read ?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Session1969, Jan 6, 2014.

1. Session1969

Session1969 Gold Supporting Member

Here's my deal. I've been playing actively since my teens and have developed a pretty good ear. A huge minus is that I don't read. I've considered taking time to go to a week or month long clinic at some of the schools we're familiar with but I have a feeling they're going to sit me down and teach me basic reading which, in my opinion, is something I should know before spending all that money. I don't want to spend thousands of dollars on something I can learn at my community college. I guess I'm curious if any of my fellow TBr's learned to sight read at a later age ?
  2. mrbell321

mrbell321

I'm not in my 40's, but 35 is close, right? I only started to read music last year. I'm not good at it. I can't sight read, but I've also not put all that much effort into it.

I don't think starting later in life is impossible or even all that hard(obviously would have been easier when I was a child...). You just have to want to do it.
  3. bherman

bherman Supporting Member

I'm 58, used to be able to read pretty well, then stopped playing for 20+ years. Have started again. Not really that hard. I go a few basic "learn to play electric bass" books and worked through them, now incorporate reading into my everyday practice. The thing that you won't get away from is that it takes time, and on a regular basis. If you spend 15-30 minutes every day, you'll get it to a reasonable level in a few months.

Keep in mind, its like learning to read a language. Remember how long it took to learn how to read books??

Other tip - rhythm (in my opinion) is harder than reading the notes themselves, especially when it gets into more complicated stuff.