Anyone like w/single coil pups like This?

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by lovethegrowl, Jan 22, 2014.

1. lovethegrowl

lovethegrowl

I have Thomastik- Infield Jazz Rounds. I don't know anyone else who has them. I guess they are fairly new. Lots of people like the flats, but I have read that they're not particularly popular with single coils pickups.

I have had no direct experience with the flats, & comparing my rounds to them might be "apples & oranges". The rounds come in smaller gauges: .118, .089, .068, .051. 043, .029.

Using those strings on my Ibanez SR406 (upon which I formerly had Carvin J99 single coils) I noticed that the slinky gauged B E A D strings sound surprisingly round & robust (still relatively light & focused) The G string, with the non slinky 43 gauge string sounds very lean & twangy. So lean that I can't play the G, A-flat, A, B-flat (frets 1, 2 & 3) on the G string at all. I honestly have to play those notes on frets 5, 6, 7 & 8 of the d string to make them sound right. The G string doesn't integrate with, or transition well to the D. The A & B-flat are the absolute worst-like a guitar not a bass.

The 29 gauge C string is what one would expect all C strings to sound like: light & high. Played on the 5th fret of the G string the C integrates adequately.

When I soon get my DX6 double coil humbucker replacement & solder it in, I suspect that the Godawful twanginess of the G string will seem less problematic--particularly using just the front neck pickup, but that's just a guess. I think a lot of the problem is simply the interface between the string & jazz pup. We'll see.