Anyone playing long mensure basses?

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by dtsamples, Apr 9, 2014.

1. dtsamples

dtsamples Supporting Member

I have a big boy. 44.5" mensure. 7/8 1930's czech gamba bass. Set up with Corellis and a Laborie endpin so the length is a bit easier to navigate. I almost didn't buy it because of the size, but I played about 10 other 3/4 basses in the 5-10k range, and none of them had the sound that this thing has. So I proceeded down the road less traveled. Anyone else?

I think about selling it from time to time to get something more standard, but I'm only a novice, so I figure what's the difference, just keep learning on this one and it'll feel just as right as any other would.

Guess I'm just looking for a little encouragement and to find out if anyone else out there has been down this road.
  2. Eric Hochberg

Eric Hochberg

The reason that basses are designed with shorter string lengths today (42" or less) is that it makes them easier to get around on for most people. If you have long arms and large hands, that will help with your bass, but if not, a smaller bass would be recommended for playability. You're a novice, so how did the Laborie endpin happen? Are you teaching yourself?

I know it's easy to get sucked in by the sound, but in the long run I think you would be happier on a shorter string length unless you are just planning on simple roots type music bass playing.
  3. dtsamples