1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

    We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Anyone see a problem with this?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by Will Kelly, Dec 7, 2012.


  1. Will Kelly

    Will Kelly Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Location:
    TX
    I am thinking about purchasing a Peavey IPR 1600 to use with an Aguilar Tone Hammer to push two 4 ohm Acme Low B2 cabs.

    Will this work, or will I be flirting with disaster with the Peavey?

    Thanks!
     
  2. nickrs540

    nickrs540

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    As long as the IPR 1600 is 2 ohm stable, or it has two 4 ohm capable channels then you'll be golden.

    Unless you're asking about them holding up to the power the peavey can put out, then as long as you use the volume knob as needed you'll also be fine.
     
  3. two fingers

    two fingers You tahkin 'uh me? Yeah, you. You tahkin 'uh me? Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Location:
    Eastern NC USA
    Everything is rated fine together. What seems to be your worry? (As always) listen for signs of speaker distress. But if you stay smart, everything should sound great together.
     
  4. two fingers

    two fingers You tahkin 'uh me? Yeah, you. You tahkin 'uh me? Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Location:
    Eastern NC USA
    Actually, from what I could find, it's both. It has two channels, but both are good to 2 ohms. So he could really run it either way.
     
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. LowEZ

    LowEZ Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Location:
    Central NJ
    Tone Hammer pedal, good. TH500, using the send jack. TH350, probably not.
     
  7. Will Kelly

    Will Kelly Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Location:
    TX
    Sweet. Thanks guys. Its been years since I've run a separate power amp.

    I'm also assuming that the IPR's are running well now since they have been out for a while.
     
  8. LowEZ

    LowEZ Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Location:
    Central NJ
    Mine's been solid for the 6 months I've had it.
     
  9. BassmanPaul

    BassmanPaul Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto Ontario Canada
    I consider 530W into a 350W B2 to be more than a little excessive. Acmes will politely handle an overload but the difference between Xmax and Xlim is fairly small. If you stack them in a vertical skinny stack and use your ears intelligently you should be alright. If you hear stuff you don't like turn down.

    Edit: I use a maximum of 325W into each of mine.
     
  10. Will Kelly

    Will Kelly Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Location:
    TX
    Hey Paul

    What are you using for power?
     
  11. BassmanPaul

    BassmanPaul Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto Ontario Canada
    the amp in the avatar is my own design pre-amp driving a Carvin DCM1000L. My backup is a Carvin BX1500. That brute will give up to 450W into each. Even with the 325W from the DCM I have yet to need more power. If I ever need to be louder, I bring my second pair of B2s along with another power amp to power them.
     
  12. jlepre

    jlepre

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Location:
    Warwick, NY
    Just out of curiosity, why the need for so much power?
     
  13. BassmanPaul

    BassmanPaul Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto Ontario Canada
    Is this addressed to me or the OP?
     
  14. jlepre

    jlepre

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Location:
    Warwick, NY
    "The OP sorry
     
  15. dukeisdog

    dukeisdog Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba, Canada
    Just another option.

    Check out the crest Prolite series power amps. I believe they're now made by peavy and I haven't had any issues with mine like reported in the IPR threads since I got it.
     
  16. Will Kelly

    Will Kelly Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Location:
    TX
    Well, the IPR is roughly 500 watts per side at 4 ohms. The Acmes are rated at 350 watts each, which Andy at Acme told me was a good 'starting point' for wattage into these cabs. They are very inefficient.
     
  17. B-string

    B-string Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Location:
    Lake Havasu City, Az USA
    I have two IPR1600's. Been rock solid now for a couple years. One runs two 8 ohm mains, second runs 4 ohm on one channel to subs and the other channel 2 ohms from the foldbacks (monitors).
     
  18. Downunderwonder

    Downunderwonder

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Location:
    New Zealand
    I think IPR has some fancy processing to cut low end like the F-deck HPF but hardwired.
     
  19. B-string

    B-string Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Location:
    Lake Havasu City, Az USA
    You are thinking of the DSP model?
     
  20. Downunderwonder

    Downunderwonder

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Location:
    New Zealand
  21. BassmanPaul

    BassmanPaul Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto Ontario Canada
    Interestingly I've never found them so. I just turn up the system until it's as loud as I need. That has been my methodology for as long as I've been playing. I think that the same is done by just about every player out there. :)
     

Share This Page