1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Anyone Switched from BDDI to ParaDriver?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by jaywa, Sep 20, 2012.

1. jaywa

jaywa

I've been using my SansAmp BDDI for several years and it is getting more and more use as more of my gigs go "ampless".

I've pretty much resolved the notorious "scoop" effect of the BDDI but am wondering if the extra tone shaping of the ParaDriver may be beneficial since this little box is my only lifeline to the P.A. and we run our FOH ourselves from the stage?

Can anyone advise me for (or against) making this move based on their own experience?

Thanks in advance.
  2. tech21nyc

tech21nyc

Disclosures:
    Manufacturer: Tech 21
    What guitar are you using with the Bass Driver? Active or passive? What settings? Is it too scooped direct or with an amp? The Para Driver will allow you to dial in the amount of midrange you desire. There is more gain available as well because the midrange is "before" the SansAmp circuit. You need to be aware of this. For best results you will need to make adjustments to both the mids and drive when using the SansAmp circuit. You will also not have the "sizzle" that the presence control on the Bass Driver has.

My suggestion is to just buy one from a dealer with a liberal return policy. You really won't know until YOU try it.
  3. tracer03

tracer03