Are balanced tension strings the answer here?

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by catcauphonic, Mar 21, 2014.

1. catcauphonic

catcauphonic High Freak of the Low Frequencies Supporting Member

I've tried about ten different sets of strings since I started playing bass. Mostly rounds, but at least two sets of flats as well. I am primarily a rock bassist ... don't find myself doing a lot of vibrato or bends. I do seem to enjoy playing the thicker strings with plenty of tension. The problem that I hear (as well as feel), is that my D & especially the G string almost sound too 'guitarish' ... for lack of a better word.

I know that playing the same notes on a lower string should have more thump to it, and more twang going in the upper direction. My issue is that when (for example) I'm playing a scale that uses three strings, My ears can tell which string I'm on ... Whereas I'm wanting more uniformity in sound as I move across strings. It would be nice to have thicker G & D under my fingers as well.

Is this something that a 'Balanced set' would cure? Or a lighter gauge?? (lighter seems counter intuitive.) Are there other factors I may be missing as far as the instrument goes???

2. Joedog

Joedog

I think there is a sticky on here about adjusting pickup height. Sounds like that could be part of the problem (especially if you've tried a wide variety of strings)?????? Have you tried a different bass through your amp? Have you tried your bass through a different amp?

3. russpurdy

russpurdy Supporting Member

I don't know much about balanced tension strings but I believe balanced tension strings actually have lighter d and g strings as they are the strings that have the highest tension on them. (Correct me if im wrong).

Another thing to try might be a compressor or EQ to smooth out the tubby bass on the thicker strings and have them a little more uniform.

4. atracksler

atracksler Supporting Member