1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Are mikro basses frowned upon?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by TotteryManx, Jan 19, 2013.

1. TotteryManx

TotteryManx

Hello all! I've been playing guitar for 13+ years now, but the last year or so I've really got into bass playing. I find it kind of uncomfortable and if I play for long periods of time my wrist/hands begin to ache. I started searching around for a solution and I keep hearing about mikro basses. I watched videos of them on youtube and the tone is pretty solid, even out of the box. With that said, they are so tiny and has me wondering if bassists frown upon mikros because of their size. Would it make you less of a bass player to play on a smaller neck and such? I probably shouldn't give a damn, but even I'm having a hard time getting past how tiny they are lol.
  2. neptoon

neptoon

3. khutch

khutch Praise Harp Supporting Member

Well, plenty of people here play a Kala U-Bass at least on occasion so I don't think you have anything to worry about. There are also plenty of people who play other short scale basses, bass VIs, and baritone guitars which you might also consider. Play what you want and you will be in good company.

Ken
  4. topo morto

topo morto

Any idea why your hands are hurting? is it an age/medical thing or could your playing technique do with work?
  5. abemo

abemo