Are these cracks? I see cracks, should I return it?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Casting Thunder, Nov 15, 2013.

1. Casting Thunder

Casting Thunder

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

I just got this guitar used from GC for a steal, and I think this thing has been through hell. I just noticed these cracks too. I just wanted a guitar to noodle around with at home for the next 10+ years, will it still last me that long or should I return it?

(Yes I know it's a guitar, but I'm a busy college student, and I trust ya'll. :bag:)

2. GlennW

GlennW

They might just be cracks in the finish. They appear to be clean and going across the grain, so I doubt if there's any cracked body wood.

Not at all unusual.

3. GBassNorth

GBassNorth

Hard to tell from the pics but it looks like the cracks are not following the grain and are probably just stress cracks in the finish. That happens to a lot of basses and if its just in the finish it won't compromise the playability at all.
    If you're really in love with the sound and feel of the bass and can put up with the looks then keep it. However, if you think you can get a equal or better deal on another bass without issues take it back. Good news is Guitar Center makes these issues fairly painless.
    Good luck.

4. StevieMac

StevieMac

It's common and wouldn't bother me in the least.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. T. Brookins

T. Brookins

Every bass I own has cracks like these on both sides.
    They are harmless finish cracks. Sign of a good, hard coat. The wood is alive to normal climate changes, the finish isn't.

7. Casting Thunder

Casting Thunder

Thanks everyone, none of my other instruments have these. (And if you saw the front of this thing, you'd have no problem believing that someone swung it like a bat into a concrete wall.)

8. StevieMac

StevieMac

^ well lets see some pics!

9. Guygrooves

Guygrooves Supporting Member