Ashdown ABM500

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by CaptainWally, Mar 30, 2014.

1. CaptainWally

CaptainWally Supporting Member

I used one for years, and I really loved the tone.

Like many folks, I had reliability issues; it broke down on the gig.

I remember the tone so fondly, I'm actually tempted to consider a new one again (with warranty).

Am I crazy? Fool me once, shame on me? Have they become more reliable?

Do I remember the tone correctly, or am I looking back with rose colored ear buds?

P.S. I use an Aguilar TH500, which I quite like, but it doesn't sound as good as the ABM500 in my head.

2. JAUQO III-X

JAUQO III-X

Disclosures:
    Endorsing artist:see profile.
    Pretty much every bass amp on the market have had a few reliability issues here or there.

I've been using Ashdown ABM 500 heads for 16 years and I have never had one go out on me or any other kind of issue that could be related to reliability.

Ashdown endorser.

3. Tractorr

Tractorr Supporting Member

Media:
    If you have the cash, then why not get the Ashdown and keep the Aguilar as a backup?

If you buy a used Ashdown you would probably be able to flip it for about what you paid for it if it doesn't live up to your memories. Plus, if a used unit is still working then there probably aren't any factory defects.

4. GretschBassist

GretschBassist Banned

Twice is okay, why not? I wouldn't make the same mistake three times though. And sure, no class D power amp can compete with the major heft of the ABM line.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. 4-string

4-string Supporting Member

I have had no problems whatsoever with any of the Ashdown gear that I have owned, and I agree that those ABM heads sound nice. FWIW. I believe Ashdown had a period with more problems than desired, but this seems to be straightened out now.

Couldn't disagree more - about a year ago I sold my Ashdown MK-500 head, and bought a GK MB800. The GK slams the MK-500, totally. Just sayin'. ;)

7. GretschBassist