1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Aspiring Session Bassist

Discussion in 'Ask Justin Meldal-Johnsen' started by TopBillinBass, Jan 6, 2013.

1. TopBillinBass

TopBillinBass

Hey JMJ!

I've been playing bass for close to 10 years and have become very serious about making music my life.

Ideally I'd like to become self-sustainable as a recording session bassist.

I realize a session bassist has to basically play anything at the drop of a hat. But more specifically, what sort of things are asked from a bassist in the studio? Sight reading charts and written music and pre-written basslines? Making up your own bassline on the spot? Picking stuff up through listening? Soloing?

What genres of music are prevalent in LA? I have a nice Ashdown rig and Xotic 5 string. What other gear should I have at my disposal? A fretless? Any must-have pedals or stomp boxes?

From what I hear one of the hardest parts is getting in contact with the right people. Any advice on how I should get my name out there?

Thank you very much for your time! Your story is awesome and inspiring!

2. jmjbassplayer

jmjbassplayer Justin Meldal-Johnsen

Hiya,

Thank you for being here and sharing your story.

Here's some things that I'd say regularly asked of me:

- good taste
    - a broad selection of instruments, particularly of the vintage variety no matter what style of music I'm doing. An Xotic 5 string is not going to be something most producers/artists are going to be stoked on, honestly.
    - cool amps, including vintage ones
    - an ability to understand a song very quickly and make charts within one or two times of listening to the song.

Sky's the limit in terms of genre.