Assembling a bass?

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by Mister Owl, Feb 16, 2013.

1. Mister Owl

Mister Owl

Hello! First, before I get laughed away for asking anything, an introduction is in order:

My name is Max, I'm 17, and I have been playing bass for 6 months. A few weeks ago, I decided that at my 1-year mark, I would buy a new bass: something that would last me a while, with a good sound.

On to the question:

Is it possible that I, someone with no luthier's experience, can assemble a bass (Fender Jazz?)? What are my chances of assembling a bass, and having it actually work.

All advice, wisdom, and help is begged for, appreciated, and thanked-for.

2. Cougmeister

Cougmeister

Is say go for it. Check out warmoth. You should be able to order everything you need and to your specifications.

3. phangtonpower

phangtonpower

If you assemble a bass from parts, it is perfectly doable. Just do a lot of research to make sure things fit correctly so you're not having to buy parts multiple times.

4. f64

f64 Supporting Member

Yes you can and it will be great! One of the first things you'll want to do is to read many posts here about pickups, necks, ect... You'll begin to get a feel for what will be important for you. Many, many members have opinions about what is good - better - best in each category. Since money is usually a factor determine where you want to put the emphasis in your build. Most importantly - have fun!

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. 1bassleft

1bassleft

Hi Max, no laughs and best wishes for the build. I teach in a school and some pupils, younger than you, doing "resistant materials" technology go about building a guitar or bass. I usually tell them to think hard, especially if they think they can make a neck from scratch, but there have been some good successes.