1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Attempting some new art on my bass (ESP-LTD)

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Sundogue, Feb 15, 2014.

1. Sundogue

Sundogue Supporting Member

I'm thinking of doing up a very detailed design and using a woodburning pen on the spalted (lacking) maple top.

Something that is a very intricate, pen-and-ink-like design.

Before anyone puts out a warning to me...I'm a professional artist (I have luthiers commissioning me for murals on guitars and basses) and I'm highly skilled with a woodburning pen. When I'm finished it will be a work of art.

For some reason, I thought today about that sculpted oak leaf Ric, and while I don't want to sculpt the maple top, I really want to create a very unique work on it. Since there isn't a thick clear gloss finish on it, it should be very easy for me to do. The only "spalting" on it is between the pups anyway.

[​IMG]

2. Sundogue

Picked up an excellent woodburning pen today. Adjustable temp and more diverse tips than I've ever had before. From extreme fine point to wide blenders and shaders. I'm stoked.

Now I just need to work out the design. ;)

3. TN WOODMAN

TN WOODMAN

Sounds great. Anxious to see what you come up with. That is the least spalting I've seen on these . Good omen to have your way with her.

I am a huge ESP /LTD fan as well.

4. tangentmusic

tangentmusic A figment of our exaggeration

Same here. Looking forward to what you come up with.

Any pics of your previous work to guitar bodies?

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. metalhead398

metalhead398

So you have a theme that you're going for? Like skulls, or flowers, or geometric shapes, etc.? Also, if you draw anything out on paper, be sure to post it!

7. Sundogue