Audere Pro Z in Carvin LB75

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Guyfi, Feb 12, 2014.

1. Guyfi

Guyfi

I just replaced my Carvin preamp with an Audere Pro Z, and "WOW!" was my first reaction. The Carvin pickups (J99 neck, HB 5 Mm copy in bridge) actually sound great! Besides being a bassist I am a recording and live sound engineer and a bit of a tone snob. I love the way the Carvin plays, not a dead spot anywhere, every note jumps right out, but I never really liked the tone too much, adequate but kind of dull. I guess the Carvin preamp really colored the sound in a bad way. It's like some ugly overtones were removed, and the top and bottom are very present in a clean way. I realize that this my descriptions are very subjective and not scientific, but hopefully this can help someone sitting on the fence on this issue. Getting the Carvin preamp out was a little tricky but installing the Audere was very simple (though in my case I had to swap the wires to the input jack, the Audere wouldn't fit) with clear directions. Also I had to make two of the holes slightly larger, no biggie. This preamp gives you a huge amount of tonal adjustment possibilities, but I'm just using it in default mode with a tiny bit of bass and treble boost and loving it. Oh, my unit has volume, balance, bass, treble, hi mid, lo mid.
    :hyper::bassist:

2. Envincibal

Envincibal Supporting Member

I did the same thing with my LB75 and also changed the pickups to Nordstrands, and the difference was HUGE! Goodbye bland, lifeless bass and hello sweet, articulate, edgy tone! Ever since I've been changing the preamps in most of my basses to the Audere, and David Meadows is great to work with - HIGLY recommended.

3. Guyfi

Guyfi

Envincibal,