1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Audition safety & etiquette for female musicians

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by pocketgroove, Nov 10, 2012.

1. pocketgroove

pocketgroove

Hello everyone,

After a long-time stint with the same band, I'm ready to expand outwards and possibly pick up a second group. I've never done this before, so as a female musician, I'm not sure on some of the rules, etiquette, and precautions one might take.

Assuming that I'm going to be looking via Craigslist or something along those lines, should I disclose that I'm a female, and when? I know it seems like a stupid question, but I have a lot of anxiety about being a situation where that fact hasn't already been established, and the potential awkwardness that could result, especially if it's not what the band holding auditions had in mind.

Is it okay (for anyone, really) to ask for help loading gear into the audition space? I always carry my fair share, and I'll take as much as I possibly can, but I can't lift my cabs solo. At the same time, depending on the people in the band, I see where that could be questionable.

Finally, what are some generally good safety tips/precautions for everyone, but for females in particular? Anything else to watch out for or keep in mind?

Thanks and best wishes
    Sam

2. SirMjac28

SirMjac28 Patiently Waiting For The Next British Invasion Gold Supporting Member