1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Audition Time...

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by bkberwanger, Dec 17, 2013.

1. bkberwanger

bkberwanger

I am auditioning for 2 local colleges in January. I am majoring in Music Education with a focus on Jazz Studies.

I would like to get some feedback on other's experiences with music school.

How & what did you do to prepare for your audition? How did it compare with the reality of it?

If you were accepted; what has been the most challenging aspect(s) of school?

If you graduated; how has your degree benefited you?

Any and all advice is welcomed.

Thanks
  2. bskts247

bskts247

I'm about to start my 4th semester as a Jazz Studies student. Quick overview of my audition process:

Get all your grades and non music stuff together and apply to the school accidemically

Decide what tunes you are going to audition on. Be able to do everything on them (play the melody, walk/play a bass line and solo)

You really have to have all these tunes under your belt and practice them a ton. I think in the last few weeks I practiced each tune at least an hour a day (3 tunes, 3 hours etc).

My audition was really relaxed. Try not to be nervous and dont expect them to run the audition. Try to prepare what youre going to do before you get there. Heres what I did:

I walked into the room with my bass all tuned up and prepared to plug into an amp
    Asked everyone how they were doing and how the day was going