1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

auditioning for a bigger Nashville country act

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by ngh, Jan 20, 2014.

1. ngh

ngh

I recently got offered an opportunity to audition for a bigger (not huge) country singer songwriter act out of nashville through an acquaintance of mine who works in A&R at a major nashville country label. the gig is for this chicks touring band and I am to audition before the cattle calls as one of a few recommendations from her management. The only thing is i am at a total loss as to what I should expect from this, and was hoping some of you could give me some advice, or share some stories so that I have an Idea as to what I should be expecting.

heres a little about me:
    I'm a young guy (22). mostly self taught but I have a good solid knowledge of music theory and composition. I am a new york jew (not practicing) born and raised, I use the occasional yiddishism in conversation and look pretty jewy. I have a fair amount of experience touring albeit on a diy level. i have a fair amount of recording experience in pro and not so pro studios as a "session" player here in the nyc diy scene. I play mostly indie rock and experimental music. but have recorded with a pretty straight ahead alt country band, and am a versatile player. I have pro gear. I know how to run live sound, and coil my cables correctly, blah blah blah...

I do not doubt that i would be able to do this job and do it well, but I really am at a loss as to what I should expect from this audition. should i play down my jewishnes (shave my beard, refrain from saying oi, etc.)? how should I dress? will I need some sort of resume or CV? should I bring a cd with recordings I have played on?