1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

    The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

    Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Avalon U5 burning smell

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by ShowKing, Jan 18, 2014.

  1. ShowKing

    ShowKing

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys

    I just got a used Avalon U5 which isn't very old and in mint condition.

    I've only played it for a little bit but each time, there was some sort of burning smell coming from it. It's not very strong but it makes your nose wonder what it is.

    I've switched the internal voltage to 230V for New Zealand voltage which is where I am.
    I'm also using a 10A 250V power cable instead of the overseas 7A 125V cable that it came with.

    Anyone have any idea what it is or know if this is fairly normal?
  2. ZenG

    ZenG

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Likes Received:
    0
    Don't know about that particular piece of equipment...

    but I get a smell sort of like that off my old stereo amps sometimes.....

    Kind of a heavy "ion", faintly burning odor......

    Been using them like that for decades.....

    I always thought it was "normal"

    Maybe not..............:eek:
  3. dmac1961

    dmac1961 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've never smelled anything coming from my Avalon.
  4. Clouz

    Clouz The Ayatollah of Jack and Cola Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2013
    Likes Received:
    0
    tube smell is what you're smelling. perfectly normal. savor the smell of tubes it is like aroma therapy to bass players.
  5. Hellbastard

    Hellbastard

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2005
    Likes Received:
    0
    What Tube Smell? The Avalon U5 does not have any tubes in it. :/

    OP, my U5 does not produce the smell you're describing. Mine also runs @230V 50Hz

    Does the smell appear right after you turn the unit on, or does it take a while for the smell to be noticeable?
  6. mjac28

    mjac28 50th Anniversary Ed Sullivan February 9, 1964 Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Likes Received:
    9
    Why the change in power cable?
  7. ShowKing

    ShowKing

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks all for the replies.


    It appeared a short while after turning it on.

    I think the smell started when the boost knob was set high. Maybe it made the unit work harder causing the smell.

    I've used it today at low boost settings and didnt notice the smell.
  8. ShowKing

    ShowKing

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Likes Received:
    0

    Because the voltage here is 230v so i used a power cable from here that says 250v.

    I got my unit from japan which is 115v and the cable provided was 125v.
  9. Hellbastard

    Hellbastard

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2005
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe the Unit was working too hard, and it started to heat up more than it normally would. The Burning smell could have been one of the many glue points, that are normally used to hold some of the largest caps in place.

    FYI, I bought my Unit here in Germany and the cable it came with it is rated @250V 10A as well, so the cable you're using can should work just fine in NZ as well.

    One thing I would check is if the Fuse is rated for 250V as well.
  10. ShowKing

    ShowKing

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Likes Received:
    0

    Awesome. Yes, I have a feeling it was working hard as I was testing the boost settings above 12 oclock.

    Good to have reassurance, thanks.

    Above the power socket on the unit, it says in small writing that the fuse is rated for 250v even though the unit is from japan.
  11. Hellbastard

    Hellbastard

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2005
    Likes Received:
    0
    You should always use a 250V rated Fuse, it says so in the Fuse Box.
    Good to hear that your unit is ok. The U5 is a great piece of gear.
  12. Clouz

    Clouz The Ayatollah of Jack and Cola Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2013
    Likes Received:
    0
    * sneeks out of thread completely embarrassed

Share This Page