1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is still pending approval by Apple. If you haven't yet, try using your mobile browser - TalkBass is responsive to any screen size.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Average Joe bass amp

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by tubatodd, Nov 25, 2013.

1. tubatodd

tubatodd Supporting Member

Little Background:
    I'm 34 years old. I've been playing bass since I was in the 7th grade. I went to college and got a degree in music education (tuba). I was a band director for a few years and now I work in IT. I've spent the last 10 years not really playing bass at all. This summer I decided to get back into it. I bought 3 basses and I'm now the bass player with a local dance band.

Current Gear:
    Squier VM jazz basses: 1 natural wood and 1 TSB
    Sterling by Musicman Ray5
    Spector NS2000Q 4 string
    Hartke Kickback 10
    Peavey Vypyr VIP 2 (mostly for guitar)

My Question:
    I'm fairly new to Talkbass and I've been doing some reading. I've noticed that most of the bass players here seem to have rigs far beyond anything that I have or anything that I could afford. My current gig does not require anything more than a combo amp. My Hartke does a decent job and actually works quite well in the balance.

Lately I've been thinking about upgrading my amp to something a little beefier. I don't really have a need to purchase anything huge. In fact, most rigs I've seen on here, even people's practice rigs, are overkill for my needs.