Axe FX for bass

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by bass4peace, Dec 12, 2013.

1. bass4peace

bass4peace

just curious!! anyone using the Axe FX for their bass tone? My guitarist uses one and it is amazing. He said it has Bass tones, effects, amp and cab models etc too. Not that I have a couple thousand $$$ to drop on one but just curious if anyone here uses one and what do you think of it??

2. NicJimBass

NicJimBass The Kirk Hammett of bass guitar! Supporting Member

I have no experience, but saw a Rig Rundown the other day that showed the Deftone's bass player using one. No sounds samples, but there are bass players that use them.

3. bmason81

bmason81

My friend has Axe Fx at his studio, The Audio Kitchen in Akron Ohio. I was there while my friend was laying down bass tracks and it sounds phenomenal.

4. BrentSimons

BrentSimons Supporting Member

John Myung from Dream Theater has one in his rack as well. It handles all of his effects and distortions/OD's.

I too wish it was more within my price range!

Take Care,
    Brent

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. negativefx

negativefx complete hack Gold Supporting Member

I'm torn between the Kemper profiling amp and the Axe FX for bass. It's GAS more than anything, as I already have a great amp, but there's always room for more...

7. Vlad5

Vlad5 Chronic Knob Twiddling Tone Chaser Supporting Member

I recently heard a metal band (forgot their name) on a small local stage.
    The bass player was running his bass into an Axe FX and then into the PA.
    He wasn't using an amp, and his sound was REALLY good.

It's on my wish list for sure (like, fantasy wish list as selling my entire pedal board and amp may just barely pay for a new one).
    But I'd still need money for a powered PA speaker.
    Not quite ready to make that jump...

8. Veldar

Veldar

It's a cool idea but it takes all the fun out of slowly getting pedals to amass a board.

9. Adamixoye