B E A D strings on Hofner violin bass

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by papolski, Mar 4, 2014.

1. papolski

papolski

I'm new to playing bass...right at 2 years now. All I've ever played has been 5-string basses. I'm looking to purchase a Hofner violin bass and restring it B E A D instead of E A D G. I really like the flexibility that low B gives. Is my vision of stringing it up B E A D feasible/possible? Has anyone tried this?

2. chilliwilli

chilliwilli

Won't work, you need a light gauge set to fit through tail piece. You also have to take into account how tiny those tuning posts are. I couldn't imagine wrapping a .120 string around that. Thickest E string you can use is .100 I think.

3. itsalljustaride

itsalljustaride

The violin bass is 30" scale, correct?

I have a 32" scale 5-string bass, and the B on it does pretty well, but it's not really the same kind of bass. Probably depends a lot on your playing style (your attack, preferred string height, etc).

4. walterw

walterw Supportive Fender Gold Supporting Member

i suppose you could force it to sort of work, but it'll never be very good, the scale is just too short and the body too light.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Mvilmany

Mvilmany

2 issues: You'd most likely need to replace the tuners, as the ones on it are basically old crappy GUITAR tuners and the thick B string will most likely not fit thru. Also, this bass is a 30" short scale, and the B string will most likely be extremely floppy. (Some people even find a lot of 34" scale B strings floppy, as you may find scouring Talkbass.

7. RBS_Johnson

RBS_Johnson

I have a 25.5" scale bass-ish thing tuned to EADG. So, I suppose you could.

That said, your tuners will not work, and maybe your tailpiece. On a 34" scale with roundwounds I like a .135 B string, so that would be a super thick string to make me happy on a short scale. I do wonder what the sound will be like though....

-Jake

8. SLaPiNFuNK

SLaPiNFuNK Gold Supporting Member