B Strings - Tales of Woe....and Surprise!

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by GK Growl, Jan 18, 2014.

1. GK Growl

GK Growl

I'm new to the 5 string and have been testing out different B strings on my Squier VM Jazz V. That said, on 4 string basses I normally use DR Hi Beams of DR Fat Beams so I figured I would just get some 5 string sets of those and all would be well. Keep reading....

Here's some observations that I've made of the very limited amount of B strings that I've tried so far and I am shocked at what I hear:

1. Stock Fender Nickel B (I'm assuming it was a 130) - Fairly decent but quickly changed to DR Hi Beams after I bought the bass.

2. DR Hi Beams 125 - Very disappointing. Clear open note but pretty much an undefined mess from the 3rd fret up. I figured the round core and small gauge might be contributing to this so I tried...

3. DR Hi Beams 135 - Again, very disappointing (and I'm a complete DR fanboy for the 4 string sets). Undefined and not even as clear open as the 125.

4. D'Addario XL Nickel 130 - Fairly decent open to about the 5th fret. Much more pitch stable than the DR round cores.

5. D'Addario XL Nickel 135 - Now it's getting better. Much more definition but being used to the zing of stainless I decided to try...

6. D'Addario Prosteels 135 - Thinking ok, the Nickel D'Addario in this gauge was pretty good, these will just be a zingier version. Wrong. Very hollow sounding and not as much pitch definition as the nickel, but much better than any of the DR B strings I had tried. Being a DR fanboy, I decided to give them another shot with...

7. DR Fatbeams 125 - I know, 125 round core was probably going to be problematic and it was. A little more defined than the Hi Beams but still a mess, especially compared to the D'Addario XL Nickel. Thinking about that, I decided to try the XL nickel instead but in a bigger gauge.