Bag End S15-D vs. Mesa PH15 for Walkabout stack?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by terlewine, Nov 30, 2012.

1. terlewine

terlewine Supporting Member

I have a Mesa Powerhouse 15 cab, but have never heard a Bag End 15.

I'd like to find something to stack under a Walkabout Scout 15, and the BE looks like a good size fit. Anybody familiar with these two who can compare them?

(A second Scout 15 seems like a good choice, but they don't show up often.)

2. bassgod0dmw

bassgod0dmw Supporting Member

I have no experience with the PH cabs and a Walkabout, but I really like my Bag End S15D's and the Walkabout head.

I'm awful at describing tone.

3. terlewine

Thanks. How about volume? What kind of gig situations does it handle for you?

4. Stumbo

Stumbo Wherever you go, there you are.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. terlewine

Thx also. I read those reviews, then decided to post this hoping to get a comparison to two of the few cabs I'm familiar with (PH15 and Scout).

I like the looks of the BEs and their compact size, but don't know if the WA thru them will keep up with two/too loud guitars, drums, keys w/no PA support.

Hard to know without going the $$ "buy and try" route... :-/

7. bassgod0dmw

Bag End cabs are crazy efficient, and thus very loud. Don't let the small size fool you. Besides, a pair of 15's is basically a 2X15.

My pair kept up just fine with a loud metal band that just didn't understand the concept of good stage volume. I'd argue that rehearsals were louder than some bands gigs.

8. lowfreqguy

lowfreqguy Supporting Member

I often play with a pair of BE S15 XDs with no PA support. The stage volume may be a little loud, but I can be heard throughout the venue without a problem. They are very efficient and the rear port allows the drummer to hear me onstage as well.

9. heavychevy

heavychevy