Band drama... opinions?

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by generation zero, Feb 6, 2014.

1. generation zero

generation zero Supporting Member

So here's my story:

When I joined my current band (original band, previously signed to a now defunct indie national label, currently working on a second national release without a label) I was a guitarist, and converted to bass to take the spot. Our drummer is also a seasoned bassist, and had been tracking bass on recordings on the last two attempts to record new material before I joined the band. He replaced the original drummer after the last 3 song demo was released, so he never actually played bass on anything that has been released to the public... the band had not been happy with the recording quality from two previous studio sessions, and was planning on going into a new studio shortly after I joined. (I joined in April of 2012.)

When I was offered the position, it was said that our drummer would be recording the bass in the studio, since I was new to the instrument and he could track cleaner and faster. I accepted that, as I was at the time unsure that I could pull off studio quality tracks at that point, seeing how I was still unfamiliar with the 5 songs they were planning to record and the session was only a month away.