Band in Box vs. Tascam Bass Trainer

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by loungesurfer, Dec 8, 2009.

1. loungesurfer

loungesurfer Supporting Member

Hi all,

Would like your input on whether to purchase Band in a Box or the Tascam Bass Trainer. Which would be more useful?

- Playing experience - 1+ years
    - Playing objective - solo - ballads & coffee bar stuff
    - Instruction - self taught - no instructor yet - but considering it. Current focus on constructing bass walks
    - Weaknesses - timing, rhythm, groove skills and speed - at 62 y/o the hands don't move as fast as they used to!
    - Strengths - scales, chords - the basics.

I travel a lot and need something that I would be very useful on/off the road and would most directly benefit my bass skills.

Any thoughts would be highly appreciated.

Thanks, Denys (aka loungesurfer)
  2. mambo4

mambo4

based on the above, I would consider a couple lessons and a cheap metronome instead.
  3. joinercape

joinercape Supporting Member

+1 on a teacher, or check out Carol Kaye online,
    www.carolkaye.com
    As to band in a box, I've used it for years, it's fun and a way to play lots of tunes in any tempo or any key, plus you can print the lead sheets in any key.
    As a fellow "old guy", I wish you luck. It's never too late to learn to play music and have fun.
  4. Danny Fox

Danny Fox

+1 on a teacher too. I use band in a box, I have found it invaluable as a practice tool...and lots of fun too!
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Stumbo

Stumbo Wherever you go, there you are. Supporting Member

7. tobie

tobie

I have BIAB but have never seen Tascam Bass Trainer. My gut-feel is that Tascam will be more geared toward bass, where BIAB is more of a 'generic music maker'. A teacher is a good idea but that should not influence you from buying either of these two products (a teacher & Tascam Bass Trainer will teach you how to play - BIAB will help you producing music to practice & play with).