1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

    The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

    Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Band less and want to set up home recording

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by Batz, Jan 31, 2013.

  1. Batz

    Batz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just want to make sure this equipment isn't junk and will be all I need. I want something where I can make good recordings with my bass and my awful guitar playing. I would use the computer to add any other instruments such as keyboard, drums. It would be punk new wave type stuff so nothing fancy.

    I'm Mac based so was thinking Logic Pro because they have all the loops, band in a box, and a recording package that includes zoom r24, 2 Krk 2 monitors, and a mic. Put the link below. Am I missing anything or are there better options?
    http://www.americanmusical.com/Item--i-ZOO-R24-PAK-LIST
  2. aasti3000

    aasti3000 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    You don't need the recorder if you're using you're going to use logic.
    Replace that with an audio interface (M-Audio seems to be the favorite), those monitors and the mic in the package and that can run to your logic. That's all you pretty much need if you're using logic. Might save a few bucks.
  3. Batz

    Batz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was thinking that, but I do plan on joining another band soon and I record all rehearsals. Thought the fact it was a combination recorder, interface, control surface would make it a good deal.
  4. aasti3000

    aasti3000 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    if you plan on getting logic then it will turn your laptop into the combination recorder you were referring to if you get an audio interface. Logic has a mixing console within it.
  5. Einherjar

    Einherjar

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Logic is good for beginners. I prefer Cubase personally. Which will run on a mac as well. Just stay away from Sonar Cakewalk and you'll do well :p
  6. Einherjar

    Einherjar

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Also, it may be harder to use for a beginner and its not as pretty as Logic, Cubase, ProTools, etc, but there is a free DAW out there called Reaper that works very well for audio recording (just don't try to use it for MIDI)
  7. aasti3000

    aasti3000 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Keep hearing about this Reaper...I gotta get on it.
  8. Einherjar

    Einherjar

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    It very solid and constantly updated. Like I said though, if you're planning on doing anything with midi (drums, keys/synth, etc) the pricier "pro"grams (hurhur) blow it out of the water in capabilities and user friendliness. That may have changed though as I haven't used Reaper in about three years.
  9. Batz

    Batz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Unfortunately, no laptop. Using an iMac.
  10. Wally Malone

    Wally Malone

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2001
    Likes Received:
    0
    Disclosures:
    AFM International Representative
    I'm a Mac user planning on getting Logic Pro and in the meantime using Garage Band. My understanding is Garage Band files can be used with Logic. I'm using the Focusrite 2i2 for my interface.

    Wally

Share This Page