1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Basic Blues question -Turnarounds

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Tombolino, Feb 13, 2013.

1. Tombolino

Tombolino

Hi

Im a newbie learning blues on bass got the Ed Friendland blues book, its great.

Wanted to know....some blues tunes end the progression by just staying on I, others have the V turnaround. In a jam situation...

-What is the most eloquent way mid tune to walk over and ask another player about the ending part?

-If I cannot ask, and need to decide on the spot and I am not familiar with the tune what should I play?

Thank you!
  2. hdracer

hdracer Supporting Member

Usually the BL will call it, if he doesn't keep your eyes and ears open and be ready to play it ether way when it comes around.

Most of the time you can anticipate it by what the singer or GP is doing.
    If you muff it on the first go round be ready on the next.
    You may get the evil eye but the world will not end. :D
  3. dave64o

dave64o Gold Supporting Member

IIRC, that book has a whole bunch of endings and turnarounds in it - some in a specific section at the end and others in the example songs that are throughout the book.