Bass amp recommendations

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by Swakey, Nov 26, 2012.

1. Swakey

Swakey

Hello everyone, new member here.
    The title speaks for itself and as i am sure that many threads exist on this topic, i was too lazy to go through them:smug:

First off, i am not a bassist.. yet. I am a guitarist but two years into my music studies i realized i loved the bass and should have been one instead. So i taught myself and played for the university jazz ensembles too but i am still learning (do we ever stop:p)
    Now that i'm done studying i've been looking in to buy my own bass and amp and steal jobs from the non-existent bassists who live in my city. :rolleyes:

Ok enough introduction..
    I am looking for something versatile that i can gig with, for around 1000 or less. If i can get a used one, even better.
    Also if it helps, i've set my mind on a used yamaha trb1005j which i can get for a good deal.

So any recommendations? Or if you guys want to point me to a similar thread that's cool too

2. CL400Peavey

CL400Peavey Supporting Member

Media:
    Albums:
    First and foremost, see what is available to you used. If something turns up here, either amp or cab, it will narrow down your search. This will depend on where you are located of course (where is that by the way?) as some used markets are a lot tighter than others.

Secondly, what type of music are you playing, and what type of venues? Basically how loud do you need to be and what kind of tone are you after. If you always have a PA or are playing acoustic sets, then you need a lot less amp than if you have to carry the room with a metal band.

Your budget should get you a killer rig with at least some used components. If you want to get into the really light weight, small, low, loud category it will stretch your budget.

So another question back at you: What do you need your amp to do?

3. Swakey

Swakey

I live in Cyprus. For those who dont know.. Google it :)