Bass cab and head

Discussion in 'Ask Adam Nitti' started by BASS_SHREDDER24, Apr 8, 2012.

1. BASS_SHREDDER24

BASS_SHREDDER24

Hey ive been playing bass for about 5 years and im about to start playing gigs with a band and i was wondering what kind of cab or head you would recomend....i want one that will last me a lomg time and is pretty good
  2. adamnitti

adamnitti

hi bass shredder!

welcome to the forum. there are lots of great choices out there, but i personally use aguilar amplifiers and really love the way they sound and perform. they manufacture quite a large variety of different types of heads and cabinets, so depending on what your budget is, you would have several models to choose from. my favorite head/cabinet combination is their db750 head coupled with a db410 cabinet... power and headroom for days, a very musical preamp section with fantastic eq, and a nice blend of some of my favorite aspects of both old school and modern tones. really fantastic gear. i'm sure others will chime in with some of their favorite choices, but i personally really love the aguilar sound.
  3. BASS_SHREDDER24

BASS_SHREDDER24

Thanks for replying and thanks thats very helpful
  4. countrybass007

countrybass007

Orange and Phil Jones are my two favorites. Orange for vintage tone and PJB for a more modern sound. But, Ampeg, Eden, and Mesa Boogie all make good bass amps. It becomes a matter of personal preference, so hopefully you'll be able to try a few different brands to find your favorite. And
    , of course, your budget figures into the grand scheme.
  5. dsanders

dsanders