Bass Cab as PA cab

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by thetaxmiser, Jan 21, 2014.

1. thetaxmiser

thetaxmiser Supporting Member

I am looking at running guitar, bass, and electric percussion through a single cab for small venues. At first I was considering a powered PA cab like the K series from QSC. Now I'm thinking about one of the newer cabinet designs like Thunderchild, Fearless, Big E or other that could accomplish this task.

I hope to get a cab that is great for bass (I am primarily a bassist) but also does the full range sound as good as a PA cab. I have a GK MB-500 Fusion for power and I may as well get a cool bass cab if I am spending the money.

Any of these cabs particularly well suited for my application?

2. Fat Steve

Fat Steve The poodle bites, the poodle chews it.

I hear that Fearful's will do the trick.

3. jeff7bass

jeff7bass

4. DukeLeJeune

DukeLeJeune Only immortal for a limited time Gold Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Owner & designer, AudioKinesis; Auth. mfg, Big E (Home Audio only)
    Imo there's not a bad choice in the bunch. All have the excursion and bottom end extension to do justice to bass guitar (something you don't find in most "PA cabs" - they rely on subs for that); all have non-fatiguing high fidelity sound with low coloration; all have wide, uniform dispersion; and all can get pretty darn loud with enough power behind them.