1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Bass cab dilemma!

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by Dronevil86, Dec 20, 2013.

1. Dronevil86

Dronevil86

Howdy,
    So i have had a rig set up for a few months now (Gk 1001rb head into a Hartke 4x10 1000watt cab) and it sounded wonderful. The problem came when i started playing with people, and had two guitars who love to play exceptionally loud. After cranking my rig nearly as high as it would go, all of the notes just kind of bled together. The tone went from crystal clear to absolute mud. After spending the next 3-4 jam sessions tinkering with the eq, i realized that if i wanted my bass playing to have presence through the guitars, it just wasnt going to be clean. Talking to people, and researching this forum have given me some mixed ideas. It seems like a lot of people are telling me if i get a 1x15 cab and throw it on top, then my lower end notes will be clean and super distinguishable. Others have said that an additional cab will not help, and either my amp or cab is damaged. Can someone shine some light on this please????
  2. B-string

B-string Supporting Member

Forget the 115, add a second 410 to get more volume. You then will not be pounding the speakers or overdriving the amp. You are going beyond the clean limits of both. Or convince the guitars to turn down to a reasonable level so you will all have your hearing intact.
  3. jumblemind

jumblemind I also answer to Bryan Supporting Member