1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Bass Cab/Head Help Please help me !

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by tripperthe3, Jan 16, 2013.

1. tripperthe3

tripperthe3

So, i have been playing bass for about 3-4 years, yes i know not long at all but i play in an actively gigging band.

So when i got my first stack is was this dusty old thing that my neighbor kept in his basement with a custom build cab and a Fender BXR 200 head.

My problem is that the speakers recently just went crazy on me and both of the speakers suddenly get extremely loud buzzing when i play on my A string this started 2 days ago with all my normal settings on my head. I know its not the head because i have checked it with a friends cab. Also, one speaker is completely destroyed.

SO i was wondering what kind of speakers should i replace them with or if i should just buy a whole new Cab and is the head i am using is right.

if you need any more pictures please ask, i am desperately in need of help since my band has a lot of shows coming up.

Attached Files:

2. Floyd Eye

Floyd Eye

If you like the way the head sounds then keep it and replace the cab. Seems a little ( Okay, a lot) underpowered for my taste, but........

As for the cab, I think you need an 8x10. Ampeg preferably. They sell used in the $500 range.
  3. B-string

B-string Supporting Member

Or a 212,412,410 or 215 cab.
  4. Downunderwonder

Downunderwonder

2x12?