Bass DI for Duo setting

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by lbbc, Feb 2, 2014.

1. lbbc

lbbc Supporting Member

I've been playing bass for 40 years....always in a rock band setting. I am part of a newly formed duo. My guitarist is running his Taylor Acoustic/Strat through his pedal board direct into the PA. I am playing an Alembic Persuader and/or Pushic Custom (both 4-string w/active pickups) through a Genz Benz Contour 15, but think it might be better to play direct. I've looked at passive DI's and the Aguilar Tone Hammer...any suggestions for this type of setting?

2. jumblemind

jumblemind I also answer to Bryan Supporting Member

A duo as in like outdoor patios and small "coffee shop" type gigs? If so, I would stick with an amp and just go to something smaller like a 12" compact cab. Most small PAs won't have good reproduction of your bass, especially when in the mix with vocals and a guitar. If it's larger places with house systems, the Tone Hammer would be great if you like the Aguilar sound. If you went with a straight DI box, you might want to go with something like a Radial J48 [del]or Countryman[/del], as [according to an explanation from Radial their active box] might work with active pickups slightly better than a passive box would.

3. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    I agree with Jumblemind. Most acoustic act PA's are woefully inadequate for bass. Now if he carries a subwoofer along with the tops, then you might have something, but most acoustic acts just use tops, so whether or not you go PA or not depends a lot on the PA.

4. Joe Louvar

Joe Louvar

^^^ Yep +3, to the two above comments.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. bongomania

bongomania Gold Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    owner, OVNIFX and OVNILabs